Black CPA Centennial honors inaugural ’40 Under 40′


The Black CPA Centennial — the year-long national awareness campaign recognizing Black CPAs across United States, sponsored by various accounting organizations including the American Institute of CPAs and the Illinois CPA Society — honored 40 up-and-coming professionals with its inaugural 40 Under 40 Black CPA Award.

The awards look to recognize “mentors and leaders, untiring advocates, [and] driven changemakers” who have shown “determination, innovation, and professional success” in driving lasting change in the accounting profession. Award recipients will be formally honored at the virtual Black CPA Centennial Celebration held on Nov. 12, 2021. Event proceeds and donations will go toward the Black CPA Centennial Fund and support national scholarships and other programs dedicated to boosting the number of Black CPAs.

“Speaking on behalf of the Black CPA Centennial’s organizing partners and the award selection committee, we’re extremely excited to recognize the next generation of Black CPAs who’ll build on the success of those who came before them,” said Todd Shapiro, president and CEO of the Illinois CPA Society, in a statement. “It’s our hope that recognizing the success of this diverse group of accomplished young CPAs will help drive momentum, encouragement, and support for others to continue to overcome adversity and inspire positive change in their personal and professional communities.”

Black CPA Centennial

The 2021 Black CPA Centennial 40 Under 40 Black CPA Award recipients, in alphabetical order, are as follows:

  • Charmone Adams, Grant Thornton LLP, New York
  • Robert Allen, The Allen CPA Firm PLLC, Texas
  • E. ZeNai Brooks, Cummins Inc., Indiana
  • Garrard Brown, Avid Technology Inc., Massachusetts
  • Andrew Coombs, Coombs CPA PC, New Jersey
  • Brittany Cummings, BKD CPAs & Advisors, Missouri
  • Mavery Davis, New Economy Works WV, West Virginia
  • Nick Dulo, BDO USA LLP, Virginia
  • Durran Dunn, Graphic Packaging International LLC, Georgia
  • Marques Fisher, PricewaterhouseCoopers LLP, Illinois
  • Alliyah Gary, KPMG LLP, Illinois
  • Victoria Ghafoor, Merck and Co. Inc., New Jersey
  • Chinedu Iwuora, Deloitte LLP, Illinois
  • Brittani Jackson, Indiana University, Michigan
  • Kendra LaFleur, Carr, Riggs & Ingram LLC, Georgia
  • Robin LeBlanc, Robin T. LeBlanc, CPA, CGMA LLC, Louisiana
  • Jessica Lewis, Riveron Consulting LLC, Maryland
  • Lanier Mason, Ernst & Young LLP, New York
  • Jessica McClain, Brand USA, Maryland
  • C. Zachary Meyers, C. Zachary Meyers PLLC, West Virginia
  • Bee Nance, Professor Nance’s Accounting Academy, Texas
  • Kenneth Omoruyi, CKO CPAs & Advisors, Texas
  • Renée Rawlins, KPMG LLP, Maryland
  • Charlene Rhinehart, Salo, Illinois
  • Brian Rose, BDO USA LLP, New Jersey
  • Marie Rosier, MMR CPA, Florida
  • Aaron Slaughter, Withum Smith+Brown PC, Maryland
  • Thalia Smith, Deloitte LLP, New York
  • Victor Sturgis, Crowe LLP, Michigan
  • Nicholas Tatum, Under Armour, Maryland
  • Kimberly Thomas, RSM US LLP, Florida
  • Terrell Turner, TLTurner Group, North Carolina
  • Blaise Wabo, A-LIGN, Colorado
  • Jennifer Walker, Florida Power & Light Company, Florida
  • Tameka Walters, Clarfeld Citizens Private Wealth, New York
  • Richard Ward, Capital Configuration LLC, Pennsylvania
  • Michael White II, Indelible Business Solutions Inc., Florida
  • Chérie Williams, Windes Inc., California
  • Kendra Williams, Meaden & Moore Ltd., Ohio
  • Jeff Wilson II, The W2 Group LLC, Maryland

For more information on the award, head to the Black CPA Centennial’s site here.

Products You May Like

Articles You May Like

What’s Going on with the Child Tax Credit Debate?
International Tax Competitiveness Index 2021
Top Wall Street analysts are bullish on these stocks with earnings underway
Here’s why Democrats’ proposed elimination of Roth conversions for the wealthy doesn’t start until 2032
Texas legislature fails to act on vaccine”no-mandate mandate”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *